Compare California Insurance companies and quotes.
Compare California Free Auto Insurance Quotes Below.
Enter your California Zip Code Below to see a list of CA car insurance companies. Then click Get CA Auto Quotes below. Consumer quotes call (657) 217-8484.
In California, all drivers must carry a minimum amount of auto insurance in order to legally drive on public roads. This auto insurance is designed to help protect you, other drivers, and any property that might be damaged in the event of an accident. Below is a comprehensive guide to California’s personal auto insurance requirements, so you can make sure you are in compliance with the law.
What Are the California Insurance Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles (California Insurance Code §11580.1b)?
•$15,000 for injury/death to one person.
•$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
•$5,000 for damage to property.
Liability insurance compensates a person other than the policy holder for personal injury or property damage. Comprehensive or collision insurance does not meet vehicle financial responsibility requirements.
If you need preferred car insurance quotes and help with your policy visit https://autoinsuranceoffices.com (external secure site)
What Are the Types of Financial Responsibility?
•Motor vehicle liability insurance policy.
•Cash deposit of $35,000 with DMV.
•DMV-issued self-insurance certificate.
•Surety bond for $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California.
For information regarding cash deposits or self-insurance, contact the DMV Financial Responsibility Unit at (916) 657-6520.
What Are the Consequences of Driving a Vehicle With Suspended Registration?
In addition to the vehicle registration suspension, you may:
•Have your vehicle impounded.
•Be personally liable for damages, if you are involved in a collision.
What steps can I take to reduce my CA Automotive Insurance rates? A car insurance company in California may often discount their rates in order to encourage good driving practices and the use of safety and security precautions.
Depending on the California Insurance company, you can often lower your rates from 5 to 55 percent.
Sometimes the investment you make in your vehicle is worth the discount, and sometimes it’s simply worth some peace of mind.
For example, the purchase of anti-lock brakes merits a discount from nearly every insurer, but the discount probably will not pay for the brakes which cost several hundred dollars during the normal life of your vehicle. Anti-lock brakes are touted, nonetheless, as a life-saving feature and deserves serious consideration when safety is a top priority.
California auto Insurers generally offer discounts for: Safety Features Anti-lock brakes, air bags and passive restraint systems i.e., automatic seat belts. Defensive Driving Clean violation record, driver’s education courses for teenagers and defensive driving or accident prevention courses for adults insurance discounts for the latter are required in some states.”
Security Systems Alarms, electronic locks, VIN etching and automotive disabling devices. Changing The Driving Habits Try commuting by public transit, using a company vehicle for work-related travel and car-pooling.
Why would my California auto insurer cancel my policy?
Technically, in most states, including California, your auto insurance company may cancel your policy only if:
you fail to pay your premium;
you lose your driver’s license;
you are guilty of material misrepresentation during the application process i.e.,
you fail to notify your insurer of a recorded violation, such as a drunken driving, or possession of drugs or any illegal activity offense; or
you fail to report a substantial change of risk, such as buying a new high performance sports car to replace an old high mileage family sedan.
Your California auto insurance company can choose not to renew your policy for a variety of reasons.
Do you have a bad driving record? Have you received a lot of speeding tickets? Have you ever been caught driving drunk? Not only are these scenarios considered unsafe and illegal, they are justifiable cause for your insurer to label you a bad risk and refuse to renew your policy. Some underwriters may feel compelled to cancel policies after only one accident.
Where do you live in California? Has the neighborhood changed in the last few years? Have the accident or crime rates risen noticeably? As regions are reassessed periodically, their status could change and you could suddenly find yourself living in a higher risk area, where your insurer’s rates may not be adequate to cover losses.
What Are the Penalties for Not Having Auto Insurance in California?
If you are caught driving without the required auto insurance coverage in California, you can face serious penalties. These penalties can include fines, the suspension of your driver’s license, and the impoundment of your vehicle.
Where Can I Get Auto Insurance in California?
You can purchase auto insurance from many different sources, including insurance brokers, independent agents, and online insurance companies. Make sure to shop around and compare quotes to get the best coverage and the best price.
It is important to make sure you are in compliance with California’s auto insurance requirements in order to legally drive on public roads. Make sure to purchase the required minimum coverage of “15/30/5” as well as any additional coverage you may need for extra protection. Shop around for the best coverage and the best price, and remember to keep your auto insurance up to date.
Disclaimer & Legal Information FREE CONSUMER RESOURCES TO ASSIST IN THE PRICING, QUALIFICATIONS AND PURCHASE OF APPROPRIATE LOCAL INSURANCE COVERAGE FROM LICENSED PRODUCERS IN YOUR AREA. YOUR PRIVATE INFORMATION REMAINS BETWEEN YOU AND THAT AGENT OR PRODUCER. WE WILL NEVER SELL NOR RENT YOUR INFORMATION OR EMAIL ADDRESS. ACCEPTANCE OF THESE TERM ARE IMPLICIT AND IMPLIED BY USE OF THIS FREE INTERNET RESOURCE The plans by design function as an administrator and service insurance agents and carrier assignments.